NZ Kitchen Garden

Home grown goodness for the kitchen and pantry

Crime against beauty

1 Comment

I committed a selfish crime against my pretty little flower garden this morning, although it was for a good cause. There it was, all young and innocent and proudly sprouting its first bursts of colour – exactly what it was supposed to do. But, it is time for it to grow up (and out), so some tough love was needed.

I have known for some time that plucking lettuce, rocket, spinach and herbs from time-to-time encourages plant growth, but it was much harder applying the same logic to my pretty little flower plants, not so much as a month old yet. In fact, whipping the buds and flowers off never even occurred to me until a trusted plant advisor (my aunt) suggested that I essentially do the same to encourage my young flower plants.

So, heavy hearted, I made my usual trip out to the garden this morning and pinched the blooms and new buds off. I did it quickly – like tearing a band aid off a wound – so that, before I had time to think about it, it was done; too late to go back.

Anyway, it turns out that putting this lolly mixture of colour into a pretty little glass dish on my desk has lessened the trauma, for me anyway. After all, I am a big fan of cut flowers in pretty vases.

It’s criminal, really. But the bees and my kitchen garden will thank me for it later.

One thought on “Crime against beauty

Leave a Reply

